

ENGLISH only

EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council N° 1209 Vienna, 13 December 2018

EU Statement on the Presidential Elections in Georgia

The European Union congratulates Georgia on the successful completion of the presidential elections.

We welcome the assessment by the International Election Observation Mission (IEOM) that the elections were well administered, competitive and candidates were able to campaign freely. We also note that, according to the IEOM's preliminary assessment, the process was undermined by the undue advantage enjoyed by one side and the negative character of the campaign on both sides.

The EU calls on all sides to discuss and reach solutions to the disagreements that have emerged following the announcement of the results of the election so as not to undermine the democratic process in Georgia

We strongly encourage the Georgian authorities to address the OSCE/ODHIR recommendations in order to improve the electoral process. We welcome the steps already taken by the authorities to investigate the cases of alleged violations and we encourage them to do so in full transparency.

The EU also expresses its deep concern that the possibility for citizens living in the Georgian region of South Ossetia to exercise their right to vote in the elections was restricted by limiting their freedom of movement through the crossing points on the Administrative Boundary Line.

The EU stands by a democratic, stable and prosperous Georgia, including with a vibrant civil society. We look forward to strengthening further cooperation with Georgia to advance political association and economic integration and to deliver on the joint commitments under the Association Agreement.

The EU remains fully committed to Georgia's sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognized borders and will also actively continue to support conflict resolution efforts.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, SERBIA* and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA align themselves with this statement.

* The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.