OSCE Permanent Council N° 1209 Vienna, 13 December 2018

EUROPEAN UNION

EU Statement on the passing of Lyudmila Alexeeva

We are saddened by the news of the passing of Lyudmila Alexeeva, a pillar of the Russian human rights movement and founder of the Moscow-Helsinki Group. A former Soviet dissident, Alexeeva represented a generation marked by war, repression and human suffering, She fought tirelessly in defence of human rights until the very last day of her life.

In her last published article, one day after her passing, she reflected on her long lasting experience, highlighting the problems of the global human rights movement and the need to reach out the masses, resourcing to new approaches, technologies and new people. Never compromising on principles, Lyudmila Alexeeva reminded us of the importance of reaching out to all people, including those in power, the opposition, the victims of arbitrariness and the perpetrators of abuse.

Alexeeva's very last call was an appeal for the release of her fellow human rights activist Lev Ponomoriov, aged 77, recently convicted to a 16-day detention term for a Facebook posting on freedom of peaceful assembly. Regretfully, Ponomoriov's request to attend the funeral was denied by a Moscow Court.

We pay tribute to Lyudmila Alexeeva by reaffirming our unwavering commitment to the universal principles of human rights, to which she dedicated her extraordinary life. Her courage, passion and vision will continue to be an inspiration for all of us. We express our heartfelt condolences to her family, friends and colleagues of the Moscow-Helsinki Group.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, SERBIA* and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA and ANDORRA align themselves with this statement.

^{*} The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.