

OSCE Permanent Council N° 1212 Vienna, 17 January 2019

EU Statement on the continued detention of Oyub Titiev, Director of the Memorial Human Rights Centre, Russian Federation

The EU remains deeply concerned by the ongoing detention of Mr. Oyub Titiev, Director of the Memorial Human Rights Centre in the Chechen Republic of the Russian Federation.

On 24 December the Supreme Court of the Chechen Republic in Grozny confirmed the extension of Mr. Titiev's detention until 22 March. Mr. Titiev had already been in detention since his arrest on 9 January 2018. We have considerable doubts about the validity of the charges against Mr. Titiev and reiterate our concerns about the allegations of serious procedural anomalies in relation to his arrest and the search of his car.

We note the report of Professor Wolfgang Benedek, conducted last year under the OSCE Moscow Mechanism, and presented at the Permanent Council on 20 December, which raises concerns over access to a lawyer by Mr. Titiev, being put under pressure to make a confession, pressure on his family, and the fabrication of evidence and use of false witnesses during the trial in order to stop him from monitoring disappearances and torture in the country.

We call for the release of Mr. Titiev and for his trial to be moved outside the Chechen Republic.

Under the OSCE commitments, undertaken in Helsinki in 1975 and later in Copenhagen in 1990, the Russian Federation has a responsibility to protect human rights defenders and to ensure that all individuals in the Russian Federation are able to know and act upon their rights.



We reiterate our call, made almost exactly one year ago, to ensure full respect for Mr. Titiev's rights to a fair trial, to physical integrity and dignity, and to protection from judicial harassment, criminalisation and arbitrary arrest, and urge the Russian authorities to release him immediately.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO* and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, the EFTA countries ICELAND and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as CANADA, UKRAINE and GEORGIA align themselves with this statement.

* The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.