PC.DEL/105/12 10 February 2012



ENGLISH only

EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council Nr 901 Vienna, 09 February 2012

EU statement on death penalty in the USA

It is with deep regret that the EU has learnt that the execution of Mr Michael Ryan is set to be carried out in the State of Nebraska on 6 March 2012, in violation of the de facto moratorium in Nebraska since December 1997.

The European Union opposes the use of capital punishment in all cases and under all circumstances, and calls for a global moratorium as a first step towards its universal abolition, in line with resolutions adopted by the United Nations General Assembly in 2007, 2008 and 2010.

While we are aware of the suffering of the victims of violent crime and their families, we recall that with capital punishment, any miscarriage of justice, from which no legal system is immune, represents an irreversible loss of human life. The EU believes that the abolition of the death penalty is essential to protect human dignity and to the progressive development of human rights. Furthermore, no reliable evidence supports the argument that the death penalty is a deterrent to serious crime. While the EU fully respects the democratic process of other countries, the concern for human integrity and human dignity, which has inspired us to abolish capital punishment, obviously applies to all human beings.

The EU calls upon the appropriate authorities in the State of Nebraska to continue the moratorium on executions and urges them to immediately commute Mr Ryan's death sentence.

The EU trusts that the Government of the United States of America will ensure that the appropriate authorities in the State of Nebraska will be informed of this statement.

The acceding country CROATIA*, the candidate countries THE FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA, MONTENEGRO and ICELAND**, the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates countries ALBANIA, BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA and SERBIA, the European Free Trade Association countries LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, ANDORRA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

*Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Montenegro continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

**Iceland continues to be a member of EFTA and the European Economic Area.