

ENGLISH only

EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Forum for Security Co-operation Nr 751 Vienna, 2 April 2014

EU Statement on the Arms Trade Treaty

The European Union has always been a staunch supporter of the Arms Trade Treaty, which has been adopted exactly one year ago, on 2 April 2013. The Treaty sets robust and effective common international standards for regulating international trade in conventional arms and provides a new multilateral framework for transparency and accountability in that trade.

We look forward to the Treaty's entry into force. By signing and ratifying the treaty, States can sustain the international momentum generated by the ATT. Later today, on the date of the first anniversary of the adoption of the Treaty, 17 EU Member States will deposit their instruments of ratification in New York and the remaining EU Member States will do so soon since their national ratification procedures are well underway. Thus, EU Member States will contribute significantly to reaching the threshold of 50 ratifications needed for entry into force.

Regulating international arms trade is a global undertaking: therefore, it is crucial to turn the ATT into a truly universal treaty. It is equally crucial that the ATT is implemented effectively if we want it to make an actual difference on the ground. The EU, for its part, continues to play an active role in supporting the Treaty's effective implementation and universalisation. The EU has, notably recently, enlarged its assistance portfolio with a dedicated substantial ATT implementation assistance programme for third countries, amounting to 6.4 Million EUR. This programme will assist upon their request a number of third countries in strengthening their arms transfer systems in line with the requirements of the Treaty. There is also a consistent effort to reach out to countries not yet party to the Treaty.

Let me conclude, Mr Chairman, by encouraging all OSCE participating States to sign and ratify the Treaty as soon as possible.

The candidate countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO, ICELAND** and SERBIA, the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate countries ALBANIA and BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA, the European Free Trade Association country NORWAY, member of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA and GEORGIA align themselves with this statement.

.

^{*} The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

^{**} Iceland continues to be a member of EFTA and the European Economic Area.