The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States.

PC.DEL/982/20 22 July 2020

ENGLISH only



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council No. 1275 Vienna, 16 July 2020

EU Statement on the violence along the Armenia-Azerbaijan international border

The serious incident involving the use of heavy weapons that both Armenia and Azerbaijan have reported at their bilateral border during the last days has sadly led to the loss of lives. The European Union extends condolences to the families of those who were killed and wishes speedy recovery of the injured.

The EU urges both sides to stop the armed confrontation, refrain from action and rhetoric that provoke tension, and undertake immediate measures to prevent further escalation. In this context, both sides should make use of their mechanism for direct communication, the established format led by the OSCE Minsk Group Co-Chairs, as well as the Personal Representative of the OSCE Chairperson-in-Office. This serious ceasefire violation highlights the urgency of resuming the OSCE monitoring on the ground, as soon as conditions allow.

The EU calls on the sides to strictly respect the ceasefire, devote energy and resources to fighting the coronavirus pandemic, meaningfully re-engage in substantive negotiations under the auspices of the OSCE Minsk Group Co-Chairs and prepare their populations for peace.

The European Union reiterates its full support to the OSCE Minsk Group and the Co-Chairs, including through its Special Representative Toivo Klaar.

The Candidate Countries REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, SERBIA* and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA, ANDORRA, SAN MARINO and CANADA align themselves with this statement.

| * Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Stabilisation and Association Process. | Serbia | and | Albania | continue | to | be | part |
|---|--------|-----|---------|----------|----|----|------|
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |

of the