

# Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe Permanent Council

PC.JOUR/718 26 June 2008

Original: ENGLISH

**Chairmanship: Finland** 

# 718th PLENARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

1. <u>Date</u>: Thursday, 26 June 2008

Opened: 10.05 a.m. Closed: 12.15 p.m.

2. <u>Chairperson</u>: Mr. A. Turunen

Prior to taking up the agenda, the Chairperson informed the Permanent Council that the Chairman-in-Office, in a letter issued on 25 June 2008 (see the annex to this journal), had announced the adoption, through a silence procedure, of the Ministerial Council decision on the reappointment of the OSCE Secretary General (see MC.DEC/2/08, the text of which is appended to this journal).

3. Subjects discussed — Statements — Decisions/documents adopted:

Agenda item 1: REPORT BY THE HIGH COMMISSIONER ON NATIONAL MINORITIES

Chairperson, High Commissioner on National Minorities (HCNM.GAL/2/08/Rev.1 OSCE+), Slovenia-European Union (with the candidate countries Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey; the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate countries Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Montenegro; as well as the European Free Trade Association country Iceland, member of the European Economic Area, in alignment) (PC.DEL/527/08), Azerbaijan (also on behalf of Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine) (PC.DEL/538/08 OSCE+), Russian Federation (PC.DEL/539/08 OSCE+), Norway (PC.DEL/537/08), Kazakhstan (PC.DEL/533/08), Canada (PC.DEL/540/08), Serbia (PC.DEL/534/08), United States of America (PC.DEL/532/08), Switzerland (also on behalf of Liechtenstein), Ukraine (PC.DEL/541/08 OSCE+), Armenia, Georgia

## Agenda item 2: REVIEW OF CURRENT ISSUES

- (a) Freedom of assembly in Armenia: Slovenia-European Union (with the candidate countries Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey; the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate countries Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Serbia; the European Free Trade Association countries Iceland and Norway, members of the European Economic Area; as well as Moldova and Ukraine, in alignment) (PC.DEL/530/08), Armenia
- (b) Conclusions of the Presidency of the European Council regarding the Western Balkans following the meeting of the Council held in Brussels on 19 and 20 June 2008: Slovenia-European Union (PC.DEL/529/08), Serbia (PC.DEL/536/08)
- (c) International Day in Support of the Victims of Torture on 26 June 2008: Slovenia-European Union (with the candidate countries Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey; the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate countries Albania, Montenegro and Serbia; the European Free Trade Association countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area; as well as Armenia, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine, in alignment) (PC.DEL/528/08)
- (d) World Refugee Day on 20 June 2008: Serbia (PC.DEL/535/08)
- (e) Legislative developments in Kyrgyzstan: Kyrgyzstan

# Agenda item 3: REPORT ON THE ACTIVITIES OF THE CHAIRMAN-IN-OFFICE

None

## Agenda item 4: REPORT OF THE SECRETARY GENERAL

- (a) Central Asia regional Heads of Mission meeting, held in Astana, on 19 and 20 June 2008: Director of the Conflict Prevention Centre (SEC.GAL/122/08 OSCE+)
- (b) Financial Report and Financial Statements for the year ended 31 December 2007 and the Report of the External Auditor: Director of the Conflict Prevention Centre (SEC.GAL/122/08 OSCE+)
- (c) Gender-awareness training for staff members of the OSCE Mission to Moldova, held on 16 and 17 June 2008: Director of the Conflict Prevention Centre (SEC.GAL/122/08 OSCE+)

# Agenda item 5: ANY OTHER BUSINESS

- (a) Parliamentary elections in Slovenia, to be held on 21 September 2008: Slovenia (PC.DEL/531/08)
- (b) Seventeenth Annual Session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the OSCE, to be held in Astana, from 29 June to 3 July 2008: OSCE Parliamentary Assembly
- (c) Model OSCE project: United States of America
- (d) *Matters of protocol*: Dean of the Permanent Council (Liechtenstein), Poland, Chairperson

# 4. <u>Next meeting</u>:

Thursday, 3 July 2008, at 10 a.m., in the Neuer Saal



# Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe Permanent Council

PC.JOUR/718 26 June 2008 Annex

Original: ENGLISH

**718th Plenary Meeting** PC Journal No. 718, Point 2

## LETTER OF THE CHAIRMAN-IN-OFFICE

Minister for Foreign Affairs of Finland and Chairman-in-Office of the OSCE, Alexander Stubb

Helsinki, 25 June 2008

Dear colleague,

In my capacity as OSCE Chairman-in-Office, I have the honour of informing you that the period of silence on the draft decision of the Ministerial Council on the reappointment of the OSCE Secretary General (MC.DD/2/08), expiring on 25 June 2008, at noon CET, has not been broken.

The decision is therefore effective as of today and will be attached to the journal of the Sixteenth Meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council and to the journal of the next meeting of the Permanent Council on 26 June 2008.

Those participating States that intend to exercise their right to duly register an interpretative statement or a formal reservation under paragraph IV.1(A)6 of the Rules of Procedure of the OSCE are invited to do so through their OSCE delegations at the above mentioned meeting of the Permanent Council.

Yours sincerely,

(Mr.) Alexander Stubb

To the Ministers for Foreign Affairs of the OSCE participating States



# Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe Ministerial Council

MC.DEC/2/08 26 June 2008

Original: ENGLISH

# DECISION No. 2/08 REAPPOINTMENT OF THE OSCE SECRETARY GENERAL

The Ministerial Council,

Recalling the decision of the Third Meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council in Stockholm in 1992 to establish the post of Secretary General and Ministerial Council Decision No. 15/04 of 7 December 2004 (MC.DEC/15/04) on the role of the OSCE Secretary General,

Recalling Ministerial Council Decision No. 1/05 of 10 June 2005 (MC.DEC/1/05) on the appointment of Mr. Marc Perrin de Brichambaut as Secretary General of the OSCE for a period of three years with effect from 21 June 2005,

Taking into account the recommendation of the Permanent Council,

Decides to reappoint Mr. Marc Perrin de Brichambaut as Secretary General of the OSCE for a term of three years with effect from 1 July 2008 as an exception to the periods of service set out in the decision of the Third Meeting of the OSCE Ministerial Council in Stockholm in 1992.