

ENGLISH only



## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council Nr 1007 Vienna, 10 July 2014

## **EU Statement in Response to the Address by H.E. Frans Timmermans, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands**

It is a pleasure to warmly welcome Minister Timmermans to the OSCE Permanent Council. We very much appreciate that the Minister found time to address us this morning and share his views on the crisis in and around Ukraine and the role of the OSCE.

We will discuss the situation in Ukraine later this morning and we therefore refrain from doing so now.

Mr. Chairman, Minister Timmermans reminds us of the accomplishments of the OSCE in the past to which he is all too familiar and has contributed to himself. The OSCE applies a comprehensive concept of security. Since the 1975 Helsinki Final Act, we have managed to devise mechanisms and institutions to promote better relations among states and to build security between and within States. At the same time, the OSCE has carefully crafted commitments, blueprints for promoting human rights and fundamental freedoms, based on the belief that we can't ensure security if we do not uphold these commitments. And we know of the personal commitment of minister Timmermans, in the best tradition of the OSCE, to remind us to continue to listen to our citizens, and to enable them to have the future they aspire to.

The OSCE is facing many challenges, and the crisis in and around Ukraine reminds us that it will continue to do so for the foreseeable future. Having said that, we need to continue to improve it and its methods of work. We also have to remain flexible to

cope with the challenges of the day. We thank Minister Timmermans for his views and we wish him all the best for the future.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA\*, MONTENEGRO\*, ICELAND+ and ALBANIA\*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA, ANDORRA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

- \* The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.
- + Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.