The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States. PC.DEL/1022/22 8 July 2022

ENGLISH only



## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council No. 1381 Vienna, 7 July 2022

## EU Statement on the recent developments in the Karakalpakstan Autonomous Region in Uzbekistan

- The European Union thanks the Delegation of Uzbekistan for raising the recent developments in Karakalpakstan at the Permanent Council. We deeply regret the casualties and loss of human life during the violent events in Karakalpakstan following the publication of the proposed amendments to Uzbekistan's Constitution. We call for an open and independent investigation into the violence, and continue to follow developments closely.
- 2. We acknowledge the steps taken by President Mirziyoyev to respond quickly to public concerns over the proposed constitutional amendments. We call on all sides to show restraint in their actions, with a view to avoiding any escalation or further violence. The European Union urges the authorities to ensure human rights, including the fundamental rights to freedom of expression and freedom of peaceful assembly, in line with Uzbekistan's international obligations and OSCE commitments.
- 3. The European Union has a strong and growing partnership with Uzbekistan. The promotion and protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms, rule of law, civil society, the rights of women, sustainable development and good governance, remain at the core of our relations. We remain committed to supporting Uzbekistan's reform efforts, and strongly encourage the continuation of this process, based on international norms and best practices and in consultation with citizens and stakeholders, including through the OSCE and its autonomous institutions, as well as the OSCE Project Co-ordinator in Uzbekistan.

The Candidate REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA\*, MONTENEGRO\*, SERBIA\* and ALBANIA\*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA and CANADA align themselves with this statement.

\* Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.