ATƏT YANINDA Azərbaycan Respublikasinin Daimi Nümayəndəliyi



PERMANENT MISSION OF THE REPUBLIC OF AZERBAIJAN TO THE OSCE

Hügelgasse 2, A-1130 Vienna Tel: +43 (1) 403 13 22 Fax: +43 (1) 403 13 23 E-mail: vienna@mission.mfa.gov.az

PC.DEL/475/10 1 June 2010

ENGLISH only

STATEMENT AT 811th MEETING OF THE OSCE PERMANENT COUNCIL

As delivered by Ambassador Fuad Ismayilov

Mr. Chairman,

In reply to the delegation of Armenia, let me remind that the ongoing armed conflict between Armenia and Azerbaijan has resulted in the occupation of almost one fifth of the territory of Azerbaijan and has made approximately one out of every eight persons in the country an internally displaced person or refugee; 20,000 people have been killed, 50,000 people have been wounded or have become invalids and about 5,000 citizens of Azerbaijan are still missing. The most serious international crimes have been committed by Armenia during the conflict.

Armenia used military force to occupy the territory of Azerbaijan and to establish on it the ethnically constructed subordinate separatist entity, which survives by virtue of Armenia's political, military, economic and other support.

It has been internationally recognized that Azerbaijani territories are under occupation and that Armenia is an occupying Power within the meaning of the relevant international legal provisions.

It is well established that democracy cannot be propagated by the sword and that an illegal act cannot produce legal rights. Therefore, against the background of continuing aggression, occupation and ethnic cleansing of the captured territories of Azerbaijan, the arranging of any kind of voting process there was not recognized as legally valid and cannot affect the pre-existing legal status of these territories, which remain Azerbaijani in international law.

Since the delegation of Armenia mentioned the Freedom House, let me remind her that in its Country Report on Azerbaijan for 2006 this organization indicated that Armenia continues to occupy the Azerbaijani territory of Nagorno-Karabakh and seven surrounding Azerbaijani territories.

I thank you, Mr. Chairman.