

**ENGLISH** only

## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Forum for Security Co-operation Nr 751 Vienna, 2 April 2014

## **EU Statement on SEEBRIG**

The European Union (EU) and its Member States warmly welcome Brigadier General Hakan Eser, Commander of South-Eastern Europe Brigade (SEEBRIG), to the Forum for Security Co-operation and thank him for his comprehensive and informative presentation.

We fully share your assessment, General, that SEEBRIG is an example in ensuring regional peace and advancing mutual understanding and good neighbourly relations among countries in South-Eastern Europe, in particular, and in the Euro-Atlantic area, in general.

According to the Agreement on its establishment SEEBRIG can be made available for possible employment in UN or OSCE-mandated conflict prevention and other peace support operations led by NATO or the EU. SEEBRIG's operation in Afghanistan, as part of ISAF, in 2006 has successfully accomplished its task to assist the Government of Afghanistan in providing and strengthening security.

The principle of effective multilateralism, enshrined in the European Security Strategy, sets the firm foundation of the EU's cooperation with the UN and other international organisations in preserving peace and security. The EU remains committed to further develop the full spectrum of instruments for crisis management and conflict prevention, including political, diplomatic, military and civilian, trade and development activities. In this context, avenues for possible cooperation have been explored and discussed by the EEAS and SEEBRIG in the period 2009-2012.

Finally, we would like to thank you once again, General, and wish you success in achieving SEEBRIG's objectives.

The candidate countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA\*, MONTENEGRO, ICELAND\*\* and SERBIA, the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate countries ALBANIA and BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA, the European Free Trade Association country NORWAY, member of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA and GEORGIA align themselves with this statement.

.

<sup>\*</sup> The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Iceland continues to be a member of EFTA and the European Economic Area.