

ENGLISH only

EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council No 1110 Vienna, 21 July 2016

EU statement on Turkey

The European Union would like to refer to the Council Conclusions of 18 July on Turkey:

The EU strongly condemns the attempted coup in Turkey and reiterates its full support to the legitimate institutions of the country. It deplores the high number of casualties and stands in solidarity with the Turkish people. The EU welcomes the common position of the political parties in support of Turkey's democracy.

The EU calls for restraint to be shown by Turkish authorities, including by the police and security forces. All must be done to avoid further violence, to protect lives and to restore calm.

The EU calls for the full observance of Turkey's constitutional order and stresses the importance of the rule of law prevailing. It is crucial to ensure full respect for all democratic institutions of the country including the elected government and the Turkish Grand National Assembly. The EU underlines the need to respect democracy, human rights and fundamental freedoms and the right of everyone to a fair trial in full compliance with the European Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms, including Protocol 13 on the abolition of the death penalty. In this context, the EU recalls that the unequivocal rejection of the death penalty is an essential element of the Union acquis.

Turkey is a candidate country and a key partner for the European Union. The EU remains committed to working together with a democratic, inclusive and stable Turkey to address our common challenges.

Mr. Chairperson, I should add that we expect Turkey, as an OSCE participating State, to ensure that its actions are also fully in line with OSCE principles and commitments.

The Candidate Countries MONTENEGRO*, SERBIA* and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

* Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.