



OSCE Permanent Council Nr 969 Vienna, 31 October 2013

EU statement in response to the address by the President of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly, Mr Ranko Krivokapic

The European Union warmly welcomes the President of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly, H.E. Ranko Krivokapic, to the Permanent Council and thanks him for his presentation. As this is Mr Krivokapic's first visit to the OSCE Permanent Council, we would also like to congratulate him on his election and wish him every success in this function.

The EU fully acknowledges the valuable contribution made by parliamentarians from all OSCE participating States to our Organisation. We appreciate the OSCE PA's engagement in promoting our common OSCE commitments, notably in the area of democratic elections, human rights and fundamental freedoms, including the protection of human rights defenders and the rule of law as well as the important work of its members on national legislation implementing OSCE commitments. We strongly support the OSCE PA's longstanding commitment to the engagement of civil society in OSCE activities.

We have taken note of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly's intensive discussions and the resolutions and declarations adopted at its 22nd Annual Meeting in Istanbul. We thank the Special Representative of the PA in Vienna for presenting the results of the annual meeting here in Vienna in July. We welcome contributions by the PA to the Helsinki +40 process and to the deliberations on the future of the OSCE.

One of the most visible contributions of the OSCE PA to the overall work of the OSCE relates to election observation. We very much welcome the co-operation

between the PA and ODIHR on election observation. Their close co-operation and partnership, as mandated by MC Decision 19/06, enhances international election observation efforts. We look forward to seeing the continuation of this co-operation in upcoming election observation missions.

In conclusion, we look forward to continuing our close co-operation with the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly.

The Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, ICELAND+ and SERBIA*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates ALBANIA and BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA country LIECHTENSTEIN, member of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of MOLDOVA, ANDORRA and SAN MARINO, align themselves with this statement.

- * The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.
- + Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.