PC.DEL/344/09 14 May 2009

ENGLISH

Original: FRENCH

STATEMENT BY THE EUROPEAN UNION AT THE 761st MEETING OF THE OSCE PERMANENT COUNCIL

14 May 2009

In response to the report by Mr. Raphael F. Perl, Head of the Action against Terrorism Unit

The European Union (EU) thanks Mr. Raphael F. Perl for the report on the activities carried out by the Action against Terrorism Unit (ATU) and the outline of its work for 2009.

The EU is more determined than ever to combat terrorism and recalls that these efforts must respect human rights if the fight against terrorism is to be effective. In this regard, we take a positive view of the ATU's activities in 2008.

Over the last few years, many decisions and initiatives have been adopted by the OSCE in the context of combating terrorism. This proliferation of measures attests to the justified interest of the participating States in the OSCE's activities in this area, but apart from increased work for the ATU it has also blurred the role played by this Organization in the fight against terrorism. The EU encourages the ATU's efforts to improve co-ordination in this area within our Organization.

In this respect, the EU welcomes the report by the Secretary General mandated by the Ministerial Council, which we believe to be useful. The contributions by all the institutions, units and missions involved provide an overall view, hitherto lacking. For us, it is not only a report but also a tool for the political and budgetary decision-making process in the future and for setting out the efforts that we agree to undertake in the various relevant international frameworks.

In view of the density and importance of this document, which deserves in-depth study, we shall return to it later and in detail in the various relevant forums.

The candidate countries Turkey, Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate countries Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Serbia, the European Free Trade Association countries and members of the European Economic Area Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Armenia, align themselves with this statement.

^{*} Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.