

Supplementary Human Dimension Meeting

on Democratic Law-Making: Ensuring Participation

26-27 April 2021 (Online)

AGENDA

Day 1

15.00 – 16.00 **OPENING SESSION**

Opening remarks:

Ms. Annika Ben David, Ambassador-at-large for Human Rights, Democracy and the Rule of Law, Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Sweden, 2021 Swedish OSCE Chairpersonship

Mr. Matteo Mecacci, Director, OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (OSCE/ODIHR)

Mr. Peter Lord Bowness, President of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly

Introductory address:

Ms. Simona Granata-Menghini, Director/Secretary of the Venice Commission

Technical information: Ms. Katarzyna Gardapkhadze, First Deputy Director, OSCE/ODIHR

16.00 – 18.00 <u>SESSION I:</u> Open and Inclusive Law-Making

Introducers:

Mr. Yves Doutriaux, Councillor, Conseil d'État, France

Ms. Anita Ramasastry, Special Representative of the OSCE Chairperson-in-Office on Combating Corruption

Moderator: Ms. Meaghan Fitzgerald, Acting Head of Democratization Department, OSCE/ODIHR

[18.00 - 19.00 Side event]

Day 2

[9.00 - 10.00 Side event]

10.30 – 12.30 <u>SESSION II:</u> Recent Challenges and Opportunities of Law-making

Introducers:

Mr. Akmal Saidov, Deputy Speaker, Legislative Chamber of the Oliy Majlis, Uzbekistan

Ms. Viktoriya Podgorna, Member of Parliament of Ukraine

Ms. Ilaria Bottigliero, Director of Research and Learning, International Development Law Organization

Moderator: Mr. Konstantine Vardzelashvili, Chief of Legislative Support Unit, OSCE/ODIHR

[13.00 - 14.00 Side event]

14.30 – 16.30 <u>SESSION III:</u> Public Participation and the Digital Space

Introducers:

Ms. Inese Voika, Member of the Parliament of Latvia

Mr. Andy Williamson, Senior Researcher, Inter-Parliamentary Union

Ms. Eka Gigauri, Executive Director, Transparency International Georgia

Moderator: Mr. Jacopo Leone, Chief of Democratic Governance and Gender Unit, OSCE/ODIHR

16.30 – 17.30 **CLOSING SESSION**

Rapports from the working sessions Comments from the floor

Closing remarks:

Ms. Katarzyna Gardapkhadze, First Deputy Director, OSCE/ODIHR

Mr. Tobias Lorentzson, Deputy Permanent Representative, 2021 Swedish OSCE Chairpersonship

17.30 Closing of the meeting

* * * * *