

Co-Chairmen of the Minsk Group

Joint Statement of the Minsk Group Co-Chairs

Geneva, March 14, 2007

The Ministers of Foreign Affairs of Armenia, Vartan OSKANIAN, and Azerbaijan, Elmar MAMMADYAROV, met in Geneva on March 14 under the aegis of the three Co-Chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group – Ambassador Yuriy MERZLYAKOV (Russia), Ambassador Bernard FASSIER (France), and Deputy Assistant Secretary of State Matthew BRYZA (USA) – and in the presence of the Personal Representative of the OSCE Chairman in Office, Ambassador Andrzej KASPRZYK.

The two ministers had a frank and constructive discussion about items raised by the parties since the meeting of Presidents Aliyev and Kocharian in Minsk on November 29, 2006. The ministers provided each other a better understanding of their respective concerns that will allow the parties to pursue discussions on the basic principles for a future settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, as proposed by the Co-Chairs, which remain the core of the negotiations. In that respect, the two foreign ministers agreed to meet again in April 2007 and possibly later in May to prepare grounds for a future presidential summit.

Ambassador Yuriy Merzlyakov Co-Chair of the Russian Federation

Ambassador Bernard Fassier Co-Chair of France Deputy Assistant Secretary Matthew Bryza Co-Chair of the U.S.