The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States. PC.DEL/1333/22 23 September 2022

ENGLISH only



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council 1390 Vienna, 22 September 2022

EU Statement on the latest border clashes between Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan and the ceasefire

- Mr. Chair, the European Union is deeply concerned about the violent armed clashes that erupted in the previous days along various sites at the border between the Kyrgyz Republic and the Republic of Tajikistan. We regret the loss of life and the reported displacement that ensued, and express our sympathy to those affected.
- 2. The recurrent escalation along this border endangers the stability of the region. The European Union welcomes the ceasefire reached on 16 September. We call on both parties to ensure effective implementation of the ceasefire and to spare no effort to deescalate tensions and reach a sustainable solution to existing differences as soon as possible.
- 3. Through its Special Representative for Central Asia and the EU Delegations in both countries, the EU has engaged in diplomatic contacts with the authorities of the two countries. We join the call by the OSCE Chairman-in-Office and the Secretary General for any differences to be resolved by peaceful, diplomatic means, and encourage the sides to make full use of the OSCE expertise on border demarcation and delimitation, including through its field operations in both countries.
- 4. The European Union reiterates its offer to provide assistance, as well as continued active political support for stability and prosperity in the region.

The Candidate Countries REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, SERBIA*, ALBANIA*, UKRAINE and REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, the Potential Candidate Countries BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA* and GEORGIA, the EFTA countries ICELAND,

LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as ANDORRA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

* Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.