

PC.DEL/670/13 11 July 2013

ENGLISH only

EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council Nr 960 Vienna, 11 July 2013

EU statement on the safety of journalists

The European Union strongly condemns the killing of journalist Akhmednabi Akhmednabiyev in Russian Federation's republic of Dagestan on the 9th of July.

We share the view of the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media, Ms Dunja Mijatovic, expressed in a press release on July 9, that the killing of Akhmednabiyev is a horrid reminder that much more needs to be done to ensure the safety of journalists. We join the Representative in welcoming the fact that an investigation has commenced and the assurance given by the Russian authorities that it is being handled with the highest priority. We urge the relevant authorities to swiftly and thoroughly investigate the case and to bring those responsible to justice.

This killing as well as other recent incidents throughout the OSCE area is a tragic reminder of the negative trend related to the safety of journalists in our region and we note that there have been recent incidents in other parts of the OSCE area. We condemn all such attacks and we need to redouble our efforts to combat both them and general harassment of journalists. The UN Human Rights Council last year adopted a landmark resolution on the safety of journalists. This should serve as an excellent example of how we could reaffirm and apply globally agreed standards within the framework of our OSCE commitments. We hope that the Chairmanship will give priority to this issue in the run up to the Kyiv Ministerial.

The Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, ICELAND+ and SERBIA*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates ALBANIA and BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA country NORWAY, member of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of MOLDOVA align themselves with this statement.

* the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.