ENGLISH only



EUROPEAN UNION

Permanent Council Nr 881 Vienna, 22 September 2011

EU statement on the death penalty in the US

It is with deep regret that the EU has learned that Mr Troy Davis was executed yesterday, 21 September, in the State of Georgia. The EU has on several occasions intervened in this case and would like to draw the attention of the Permanent Council to the declaration issued on 19 September by the EU High Representative, Catherine Ashton, on behalf of the European Union. In the declaration, the EU called for an urgent commutation of Troy Davis execution.

The EU opposes the use of capital punishment in all cases and under all circumstances, and calls for a global moratorium as a first step towards its universal abolition, in line with resolutions adopted by the United Nations General Assembly in 2007, 2008 and 2010.

In the case of Mr Davis, serious and compelling doubts have persistently surrounded the evidence on which Mr Davis was convicted, which have also been recognised by the appeal judges.

While we are aware of the suffering of the victims of violent crime and their families, we recall that with capital punishment, any miscarriage of justice, from which no legal system is immune, represents an irreversible loss of human life. The EU believes that the abolition of the death penalty is essential to protect human dignity and to the progressive development of human rights. The EU

considers capital punishment cruel and inhuman. Furthermore, it has not been found to act as a deterrent. While the EU fully respects the democratic process of other countries, the concern for human integrity and human dignity, which has inspired us to abolish capital punishment, obviously applies to all human beings.

The EU trusts that the Government of the United States of America will ensure that the appropriate authorities in the State of Georgia will be informed of this statement.

The candidate countries TURKEY, CROATIA*, the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO* and ICELAND**, the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate countries ALBANIA, BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA and SERBIA, the European Free Trade Association countries LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, AZERBAIJAN, ANDORRA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

*Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Montenegro continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

**Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and the European Economic Area.