PC.DEL/941/12 24 October 2012

**ENGLISH** 

Original: FRENCH

Delegation of Switzerland

## STATEMENT BY THE DELEGATION OF SWITZERLAND AT THE 926th MEETING OF THE OSCE PERMANENT COUNCIL

18 October 2012

## Regarding the 14th Summit of La Francophonie

Mr. Chairperson,

Switzerland, speaking also on behalf of Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, France, Greece, Luxembourg, Moldova, Monaco and Romania, wishes to draw the attention of OSCE participating States to the 14th Summit of La Francophonie, held on 13 and 14 October 2012 in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo.

The Summit, the highest authority in La Francophonie, is composed of the high representatives of the 75 countries having the French language in common. It meets in a member country every two years. Its mission is to promote the values of La Francophonie and francophone solidarity and to strengthen co-operation. The 13th Summit of La Francophonie took place in Switzerland in 2010.

The theme of the 14th Summit was "Francophonie: Environmental and Economic Challenges Facing Global Governance". At the close of the Summit, the Heads of State or Government adopted a joint declaration, the Kinshasa Declaration, which sets out the key priorities for francophone multilateral co-operation over the next two years.

This declaration endorses a fourfold programme of action around the themes of democratic governance and human rights, the French language in terms of both education and cultural diversity, environmental and economic challenges, and Africa's role in La Francophonie and in global governance.

The Heads of State or Government of La Francophonie also decided to entrust the organization of the 15th Summit, to be held in 2014, to Senegal.

The Kinshasa summit had symbolic value for Switzerland, marking the end of its chairmanship of the conference of Heads of State or Government of the member countries of La Francophonie (2010–2012) and the handover of that office to the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Within La Francophonie, Switzerland, Canada and France are committed in particular to peace, democracy and human rights in all the member countries of La Francophonie for the common good of their peoples, especially women and youth.

Thank you, Mr. Chairperson.