

ENGLISH only

EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council Nr 904 Vienna, 08 March 2012

EU statement on the reported security incident in Georgia on 4 March 2012

The European Union would like to draw the attention of the Permanent Council to the press release issued by the European Union Monitoring Mission in Georgia (EUMM) on 5 March 2012 in connection with the reported security incident that took place on 4 March:

"The EU Monitoring Mission is concerned about the current security situation close to the Abkhazia Administrative Boundary Line (ABL), and in particular the reported incident that took place on the morning of Sunday 4 March in Ganmukhuri.

On being informed on Sunday that an incident had taken place, the EUMM sent several patrols to the area to gather information about what may have happened. So far, the details are not clear and the local reports are contradictory. The Mission will continue to work with those responsible for security on both sides of the ABL to look into this incident.

Whatever may have occurred, the EUMM calls on all sides to show restraint and refrain from any words or actions that could be provocative. There has been a worrying increase in security related events in this area in the last three months, a point raised by the EUMM at previous Incident Prevention and Response Mechanism (IPRM) meetings.

The Mission will continue to closely monitor events on the ground and to work with all participants in the IPRM meetings, and through the hotline, to maintain security and stability for the people living in the area close to the Administrative Boundary Line."

The EU reiterates its firm support to the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Georgia within its internationally recognized borders. The EU would like to emphasize that this incident underlines once more the need for the EUMM to have unhindered access to both sides of the administrative boundary line.

The acceding country CROATIA*, the candidate countries THE FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA, MONTENEGRO, ICELAND** and SERBIA, the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates countries ALBANIA and BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA, the European Free Trade Association countries LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA align themselves with this statement.

*Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

^{**}Iceland continues to be a member of EFTA and the European Economic Area.