

EUROPEAN UNION

ENGLISH only

OSCE Permanent Council No 1120 Vienna, 24 November 2016

EU Statement in response to Georgia

The European Union and its Member States are deeply concerned by the recent ratification of the so-called agreement between the Russian Federation and the Georgian breakaway region of Abkhazia on the creation of a "joint group of military forces". We consider this step detrimental to ongoing efforts to strengthen security and stability in the region and to improve the humanitarian situation on the ground.

This so-called agreement – like the earlier so-called "Agreement on the State Border" between the Russian Federation and the breakaway region of South Ossetia, and the so-called "Treaties" signed between the Russian Federation and the two Georgian breakaway regions of Abkhazia and South Ossetia – has no legal status for the EU.

These so-called agreements violate international law, including the principles of inviolability of Georgia's sovereignty, territorial integrity and internationally recognized borders. They also contradict the international commitments made by the Russian Federation, under the 12 August 2008 Cease Fire Agreement and its Implementing Measures of 8 September 2008.

The European Union reaffirms its commitment to peaceful resolution of the conflict in Georgia, including through its co-chairmanship of the Geneva International Discussions and the EU Monitoring Mission and urges all parties to refrain from any action which might jeopardize in any way the evolution of the GID. The European Union reiterates its firm support for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Georgia within its internationally recognised borders. The European Union calls on the Russian Federation to fulfil its obligations under the ceasefire agreement of 12 August 2008 and its subsequent implementing measures of 8 September 2008, and to provide EUMM access to the breakaway regions.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO* and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE and the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA align themselves with this statement.

* The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.