

**ENGLISH** only

## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council No 1118 Vienna, 10 November 2016

## EU statement on the case of Ildar Dadin

The European Union expresses its grave concern over the serious allegations that human rights activist Ildar Dadin, who is serving a two and a half year prison term in the Russian Federation, has been subjected to torture and mistreatment in prison. In a letter addressed to his wife, he described being subjected to appalling instances of torture, including being suspended for long periods of time and being threatened with rape. He also described how torture and ill-treatment is applied to prisoners on a large scale. These allegations are just the latest in a string of reports indicating that torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment are being widely used in the Russian penal system.

The EU reiterates that torture is an abhorrent violation of human rights, and that the prohibition of torture is absolute and unconditional. We recall the Russian Federation is a party to the European Convention on Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms which protects these rights. We strongly urge the Russian authorities to carry out a swift, thorough and impartial investigation of the case and take steps to eliminate the use of torture and other ill-treatment in penitentiary facilities. We deeply regret the recent move to weaken the oversight mechanism in charge of investigating claims of abuse in prison, and we urge the government to reverse this course. The pattern of impunity for torture and other ill-treatment in Russian prisons must be addressed and the perpetrators identified and brought to justice.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA\*, MONTENEGRO\* and ALBANIA\*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE and GEORGIA align themselves with this statement.

<sup>\*</sup> The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.