

ENGLISH only

OSCE Permanent Council Nr 973 Vienna, 21 November 2013

EU Statement in response to the Helsinki+40 Progress Report

The European Union and its Member States thank the Chairmanship for its work this year in launching the Helsinki+40 process in accordance with last year's Dublin decision. We also thank the Chairmanship for the progress report on the discussions conducted in the second half of this year, on conventional arms control and CSBMs, and on the implementation of commitments, in particular those belonging to the Human Dimension. We look forward to the next meeting of the IHWG on the topic of achieving progress in the resolution of protracted conflicts. We reiterate that we consider the topics of these discussions to be crucial to our efforts to advance work towards a security community.

We welcome the appointment of the first Helsinki+40 special coordinator, on strengthening the effectiveness and efficiency of the OSCE. We hope the initial informal meeting on the subject tomorrow will build on the discussions we had in July, and facilitate some concrete outcomes.

We reiterate our support for a Helsinki+40 Declaration in Kyiv in line with the decision agreed in Dublin. We recall our common determination from Dublin to use this process to record practical results reflecting intensified efforts to fully implement OSCE commitments, and to reconfirm and build upon the OSCE achievements across the three dimensions. That forms a solid basis for the Helsinki+40 process, but we need to inject some fresh energy and creativity into this effort if we are to show results over the coming year. Equally, we look forward to input from civil society, including NGOs and the established OSCE academic network, as well as Security Days.

We underline our firm support for the incoming Swiss and Serbian Chairmanships. We wish them every success in their efforts to take the Helsinki+40 process forward and ensure substantial results in 2015.

The Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO* and ICELAND+, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates ALBANIA and BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA country LIECHTENSTEIN, member of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of MOLDOVA, GEORGIA, ANDORRA and SAN MARINO, align themselves with this statement.

- * The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Montenegro continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.
- + Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.