

ENGLISH only

## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council Nr 941 Vienna, 14 February 2013

## EU statement on the Death Penalty in the USA

The European Union has learned that Mr Warren Lee Hill is facing execution in the State of Georgia in the week beginning February 18<sup>th</sup>, 2013.

Pursuant to its previous statement of July 12<sup>th</sup> 2012, the European Union wishes to renew its urgent humanitarian appeal to spare the life of Mr. Warren Lee Hill who has been on a death row since 1991.

In the present case, the European Union notes with concern that there is evidence to suggest that Mr Warren Lee Hill is intellectually disabled, since in 2002 he was found by a state court judge to have "a heavy mental retardation, with an undisputed IQ of 70 accompanied by significant adaptive deficits, among them difficulties with communication, social skills, functional academics, abstract thinking, judgement and impulse control".

The EU strongly believes that the execution of persons suffering from a mental disorder, including limited mental competence, is contrary to widely accepted human rights norms and is in contradiction to the minimum standards of human rights set forth in several international human rights instruments.

Taking this into account, the EU urges the appropriate authorities in the State of Georgia to grant Mr Hill relief from the death penalty.

The EU trusts that the United States delegation will ensure that the appropriate authorities in the State of Georgia will be informed of this statement.

The Acceding Country Croatia<sup>\*</sup>, the Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia<sup>\*</sup>, Montenegro<sup>\*</sup>, Iceland+ and Serbia<sup>\*</sup>, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova, Georgia, Andorra and San Marino, align themselves with this statement.

\* Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.