The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States. PC.DEL/691/21 13 May 2021

ENGLISH only



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council No. 1312 Vienna, 6 May 2021

EU Statement on the recent escalation of tensions at the Kyrgyz-Tajik border

The European Union noted with great concern the serious escalation of tensions at the border between the Kyrgyz Republic and the Republic of Tajikistan last week, which resulted in numerous lost lives both military and civilians, severe injuries and major fires. The EU regrets this outbreak of violence, the most serious in recent years, and expresses its sympathy to those who have lost relatives or friends.

The EU welcomes the ceasefire agreement reached on Saturday last week by the Kyrgyz Republic and the Republic of Tajikistan and further negotiations for a political settlement of the border issues. We call on both sides to undertake all the necessary steps to avoid any conflict in the future, and to use exclusively peaceful means to find mutually acceptable and sustainable solutions.

The EU lauds the CiO's commitment to the region and appreciates her immediate efforts to reach out to the Foreign Ministers of Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan. The EU welcomes the offer of the OSCE, in line with the OSCE Vilnius MC Decision 3/11 on elements of the Conflict Cycle, to support the two parties' efforts to adhere to the ceasefire, establish a dialogue in order to stabilize the situation in the border region and work for long-term recovery.

The EU will continue to be engaged in diplomatic contacts on various levels with the authorities of the two countries. The EU stands ready to provide mediation and technical assistance regarding border management and water management, as well as continued political support for stability and prosperity in the region.

The Candidate Countries REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, SERBIA* and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA and ANDORRA align themselves with this statement.

* Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.