

ENGLISH only

## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council No 1112 Vienna, 8 September 2016

## EU statement marking the International Day of the Victims of Enforced Disappearances

As we mark the International Day of the Victims of Enforced Disappearances, which took place on 30 August, the European Union would like to reaffirm its strong commitment to the prevention of enforced disappearances. This phenomenon constitutes a serious violation of human rights that guarantee, inter alia, the right not to be subjected to torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment. All shapes and forms of torture are clearly and unequivocally prohibited under international law.

We are deeply concerned that, despite clear international norms, enforced disappearances continue to occur in the OSCE region. Previous cases of disappearances have failed to be addressed, creating an atmosphere of impunity, thus denying justice and effective remedy to the victims.

In light of persisting challenges, we encourage all participating States to consider ratifying the International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance and to take practical steps to combat enforced disappearances. This includes effectively investigating allegations of enforced disappearances, bringing perpetrators to justice and providing proper compensation to the victims and their families.

The EU remains ready to support the adoption of a Ministerial Council Decision on the Prevention of Torture, including a strong reference to enforced disappearances, as our existing OSCE commitments do not sufficiently address the persistent and abhorrent use of torture, including enforced disappearances.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA\*, MONTENEGRO\*, SERBIA\* and ALBANIA\*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA, ANDORRA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

* The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, of the Stabilisation and Association Process.	Montenegro,	Serbia and	Albania continue	to be part