The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States. PC.DEL/1044/20 28 July 2020

ENGLISH only



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council No. 1276 Vienna, 23 July 2020

EU Statement on the resumption of federal executions in the United States

The European Union deeply regrets the resumption of federal executions in the United States, ending a *de facto* moratorium of 17 years. Three executions were carried out in close sequence by the US Federal Government last week. This decision runs counter to the overall trend in the United States and worldwide to abolish the death penalty, either by law or in practice.

The European Union is deeply worried about allegations of procedural irregularities regarding two of the executions carried out by the US Federal Government. We would welcome further information from the US delegation on the executions of Daniel Lee (47) and Wesley Purkey (68).

The European Union strongly opposes the death penalty at all times and in all circumstances. It is a cruel, inhuman and degrading punishment, incompatible with the inalienable right to life, fails to provide effective deterrence to criminal behaviour, and is irreversible.

The EU will continue its long-standing campaign against the death penalty, including within the OSCE. We call on the two participating States that still maintain the death penalty in law and in practice, as well as on relevant OSCE Partners for Cooperation, to introduce a moratorium on executions as a first step towards full abolition.

The Candidate Countries REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, SERBIA* and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, ANDORRA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

 \ast Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.