PC.DEL/1320/18 2 November 2018

**ENGLISH** 

Original: FRENCH

## STATEMENT BY THE EUROPEAN UNION AT THE 1199th MEETING OF THE OSCE PERMANENT COUNCIL

1 November 2018

## On the attack in Pittsburgh

The terrible attack on 27 October in Pittsburgh regrettably demonstrates that anti-Semitism, along with other forms of racism, is a scourge of the greatest relevance throughout the countries of the OSCE area. The European Union expresses its sincere condolences to the families and friends of those affected by this attack and to the United States authorities. At this painful time, we express our solidarity with the members of the community of the synagogue in Pittsburgh and all the members of Jewish communities around the world. We also express our sincere condolences to the families and friends of the two persons killed in Jeffersontown, Kentucky, on 24 October. From what we understand of the inquiry, these murders could be hate crimes.

The European Union reaffirms its strong condemnation of anti-Semitism and racism and all incitement to hatred and violence. We have seen the devastating and unforgivable consequences of anti-Semitism and hate on our continent, which can never be forgotten and which should remind us at all times of our responsibilities.

In that context, we have a duty to inform and educate future generations so as to step up our fight against anti-Semitism and all forms of discrimination. Verbal abuse, excessive behaviour, threats to individuals or members of communities have no place in public debate and democratic societies.

To perform these tasks, the OSCE has developed a body of major commitments over the years. We fully support the OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights, which has a strong mandate to combat anti-Semitism and hate crimes.

The European Union will not cease in its efforts to protect freedom of religion or belief wherever it is questioned or attacked and to combat anti-Semitism, racism and intolerance.

- 2 -

The candidate countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia<sup>1</sup>, Montenegro<sup>1</sup>, Serbia<sup>1</sup> and Albania<sup>1</sup>, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, the European Free Trade Association countries and members of the European Economic Area Iceland and Liechtenstein, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Georgia, Andorra and San Marino, align themselves with this statement.

<sup>1</sup> The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.