

PC.DEL/1069/15 23 July 2015

ENGLISH only

EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council No 1063 Vienna, 23 July 2015

EU Statement in response to the addresses of the Secretary General of the Cooperation Council of the Turkic speaking states, H.E. Ramil Hasanov, and by the Secretary General of the PA of Turkic speaking countries, H.E. Jandos Asanov

The European Union welcomes the Secretary-General of the Cooperation Council of Turkic speaking states, H.E. Ramil Hasanov, and the Secretary-General of the Parliamentary Assembly of Turkic speaking countries (TURKPA), H.E. Jandos Asanov, to the Permanent Council and thanks them for their addresses.

The EU would like to recall its support for the co-operation between the OSCE and other International Organisations that share its values, on the basis of the 1999 Platform for Co-operative Security and taking into account the added value they can bring to the work of our Organisation. In particular, the Platform aims at developing and maintaining political and operational coherence among various bodies operating in the OSCE area.

In this context, the European Union would like to reiterate its resolve to promote the implementation of the provisions of the Platform for Co-operative Security with a view to maximising the effectiveness of the OSCE. We are convinced of the need to further develop a mutually reinforcing relationship between the OSCE and those organisations and institutions that can contribute to the promotion of comprehensive security within the OSCE area and that fully respects and is aimed at furthering the implementation of our OSCE commitments.

In conclusion, we would like to thank once again H.E. Ramil Hasanov, and H.E. Jandos Asanov for their addresses.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, ICELAND+ and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA country NORWAY, member of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA, ANDORRA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

* The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.