The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States. PC.DEL/1170/21 21 July 2021

ENGLISH only



## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council No. 1324 Vienna, 15 July 2021

## EU Statement on the 26<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the Srebrenica Genocide

On Sunday we commemorated the 26<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the genocide in Srebrenica. As some victims are still to be laid to rest, we extend our sympathies to the survivors and to the families and friends of those who have suffered and lost their lives.

This commemoration reminds us of one of the darkest moments for humanity and recent European history, and of our responsibility to prevent such an atrocity from ever happening again. Far too many perpetrators of war crimes have still not been brought to justice in Bosnia and Herzegovina in particular, and in the Western Balkans region in general. In this regard, the European Union will continue to plead for end to glorification of war criminals and a sound commitment from its partners in the region with respect to ensuring full cooperation with international tribunals, including on the latter's decisions.

By remembering the victims, we have both the responsibility and the opportunity to work to ensure a better future for the generations to come, a future based on justice and lasting reconciliation, avoiding divisive actions and rhetoric. Collective respect, recognition, remembrance and education on this topic are the basis for building a peaceful and sustainable future for Bosnia and Herzegovina and are cornerstones of regional co-operation.

The European Union will continue to support Bosnia and Herzegovina and its citizens to overcome the legacy of the past and to help the country advance on its European accession perspective.

The Candidate Countries REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA\*, MONTENEGRO\* and ALBANIA\*, and the EFTA countries ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA, ANDORRA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

\* Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.