

EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council No 994 Vienna, 10 April 2014

EU Statement on the first round of the Presidential elections in Afghanistan

- 1. The European Union would like to draw the attention of the Permanent Council to the statement of High Representative Ashton of 8 April 2014 on the first round of the Presidential Elections in Afghanistan:
- 2. "I pay tribute to the courage and bravery of the Afghan people in their determination to have their rightful say in who will be their president. They have sent a clear message that votes not violence should decide who governs Afghanistan. I want to make special mention of the many women of Afghanistan who turned out to cast their ballot, in spite of the many barriers they face to their legitimate aspirations to play a full part in Afghanistan's politics. I also want to credit the Afghan authorities and the Afghan National Security Forces for their considerable efforts in ensuring voter safety and in organising the elections on schedule.
- 3. The EU has shown its commitment to the process by deploying an observation team led by Thijs Berman MEP. The team will remain in Afghanistan until the election process is completed. I call on all parties to now let the electoral bodies perform their task of making sure that the final results reflect the will of the people as accurately as possible. "
- 4. At the same time, the European Union once more wishes to express its appreciation for the work carried out so far by the OSCE Election Support Team organised by the ODIHR under challenging circumstances. We look forward to receiving its report and recommendations upon completion of the electoral process.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO*, ICELAND+ and SERBIA*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidates ALBANIA and BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA and GEORGIA align themselves with this statement.

- * The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.
- + Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.