PC.DEL/362/10 6 May 2010

ENGLISH only



Spanish Presidency of the European Union

OSCE Permanent Council No. 808 Vienna, 6 May 2010

EU statement on the report by the High Commissioner on National Minorities on his recent visit to Kyrgyzstan

The EU would like to thank High Commissioner Vollebaek for his report to the Permanent Council and for sharing his evaluation of the situation in Kyrgyzstan, particularly from the perspective of interethnic relations, gained during his mission last week.

The EU fully shares his concern about increased nationalism, recent outbreaks of inter-ethnic violence and reports that members of minority communities are leaving the country. The protection of inter-ethnic peace in Kyrgyzstan is of critical We welcome the provisional importance. government's assurance of its intention to protect and promote respect for human rights, including those of persons belonging to national minorities. We also stress the necessity to not only publicly condemn any attack against members of any minority, but also to spare no effort to ensure their effective protection and bring to justice those behind these attacks. We encourage the provisional government to take all necessary measures to restore the rule of law.

2010.es Presidencia Española

It is furthermore essential to include the country's national minorities in the political processes. This is especially so for the ongoing process of shaping the new constitution by referendum in June, but also for the process leading to general elections in October. This is crucial for the legitimate representation of the interests of persons belonging to national minorities in Kyrgyzstan.

We also encourage both provisional Government and civil society to avail themselves of the expertise offered by the OSCE in this field, in particular by the High Commissioner on National Minorities. We fully support a continued active engagement by the High Commissioner in Kyrgyzstan.

As ever, the EU stands ready to offer its assistance to the work of the OSCE in this field.

Thank you, Mr. Chairman.

Los países candidatos CROACIA* y la ANTIGUA REPÚBLICA YUGOSLAVA DE MACEDONIA*, los países del Proceso de Estabilización y Asociación y los países candidatos potenciales, ALBANIA, BOSNIA Y HERZEGOVINA, MONTENEGRO y SERBIA, los países de la Asociación Europea de Libre Comercio y los miembros del Espacio Económico Europeo, ISLANDIA, LIECHTENSTEIN y NORUEGA, al igual que la REPÚBLICA DE MOLDAVIA y GEORGIA se suman a esta declaración.

*Croacia y la Antigua República Yugoslava de Macedonia siguen perteneciendo al proceso de Estabilización y Asociación.