

PC.DEL/39/10 21 January 2010

Spanish Presidency of the European Union

ENGLISH only

OSCE Permanent Council No. 791 Vienna 21 January 2010

EU statement on the death of the Kyrgyz journalist Gennady Pavlyuk

The EU is shocked by another killing of a Kyrgyz journalist and would like to recall the statement of the Presidency of the European Union on 23 December 2009, expressing concern over the circumstances of Gennady Pavlyuk's death in Almaty, urging the Kazakh authorities swiftly and thoroughly to investigate Mr. Pavlyuk's death and to bring those responsible to justice. The Presidency also called on the Kyrgyz authorities to assist in the investigation.

The EU remains deeply concerned about the series of violent attacks, some fatal, against politically active Kyrgyz journalists and opposition politicians. We are also disappointed that most cases have remained unresolved and that perpetrators have not yet been brought to justice. This has created a climate of intimidation that seriously jeopardises freedom of expression. In this regard, we also would like to add our voice to the appeal of Mr. Miklós Haraszti, the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media, who urged Kyrgyz authorities on 23 December to address what he called the 'safety

crisis' of free press. Kyrgyzstan, like every country, requires open debate for its political, social and economic development.

In this regard, the European Union urges the Kyrgyz authorities not to allow earlier progress in media freedom to be undermined and, as a priority, to ensure a safe environment for independent journalism in accordance with their international commitments. The European Union stands ready to co-operate closely and constructively with the Kyrgyz Republic in this process, in particular in the framework of the EU-Kyrgyzstan human rights dialogue.

Los países candidatos CROACIA* y la antigua REPÚBLICA YUGOSLAVA DE MACEDONIA*, los países del Proceso de Estabilización y Asociación y los países candidatos potenciales, ALBANIA, BOSNIA Y HERZEGOVINA, MONTENEGRO y SERBIA, los países de la Asociación Europea de Libre Comercio y los miembros del Espacio Económico Europeo, ISLANDIA y NORUEGA, al igual que la REPÚBLICA DE MOLDAVIA y GEORGIA se alinean con esta declaración.

*Croacia y la Antigua República Yugoslava de Macedonia siguen perteneciendo al proceso de Estabilización y Asociación.