

FSC.DEL/163/14 1 October 2014

ENGLISH only

## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Forum for Security Co-operation Nr 764 Vienna, 1 October 2014

## EU Statement on the Forthcoming Entry into Force of the Arms Trade Treaty

The European Union welcomes the fact that 53 States have ratified the Arms Trade Treaty (ATT), thereby enabling its entry into force by the end of this year. We look forward to the first conference of States Parties to the ATT which will take place in 2015.

The European Union is convinced that, when effectively and widely implemented, the Arms Trade Treaty will make trade in conventional arms more responsible and transparent, aiming, inter alia, at curtailing the illicit trafficking of such weapons and consequentially reduce human suffering thus contributing to international peace, security and stability. This is why, further to its entry into force, it is very important to ensure that the Treaty is effectively implemented, while every effort is made for its universalisation.

In this spirit, the European Union adopted in December 2013 under Council Decision 2013/768/CFSP an ambitious and tangible programme to support the Treaty's implementation by third countries. This programme will assist States, upon their request, in strengthening their arms transfer systems in line with the requirements of the Treaty. It will also enable a consistent effort to reach out to countries not yet parties to the Treaty.

The threshold for entry into force has been passed with a significant contribution from EU Member States and OSCE participating states. Indeed, to date, 43 OSCE participating States, out of which all 28 EU Member States, have signed the Treaty, while 29 OSCE participating States, out of which 23 EU Member States, have already deposited their instruments of ratification. Against this background, we encourage OSCE participating States, who have not yet done so, to sign and ratify the ATT at their earliest convenience.

The candidate countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA<sup>\*</sup>, MONTENEGRO, ICELAND<sup>\*\*</sup>, SERBIA and ALBANIA, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA and ANDORRA align themselves with this statement.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>\*</sup> The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>\*\*</sup> Iceland continues to be a member of EFTA and the European Economic Area.

euoffice@osce.org • eeas.europa.eu/delegations/vienna • PAGE 2/2