

ENGLISH only

OSCE Permanent Council Nr 936 Vienna, 20 December 2012

EU statement in response to the address by the Secretary General of the Co-operation Council of Turkic Speaking States, H.E. Ambassador Halil Akinci

The European Union welcomes the Secretary General of the Cooperation Council of Turkic Speaking States, H.E. Ambassador Halil Akinci, back to the Permanent Council and thanks him for his address.

We have listened with interest to the presentation of the activities of the Co-operation Council of Turkic Speaking States. At the same time, the EU would like to recall its support for the co-operation between the OSCE and other international organisations that share its values, on the basis of the 1999 Platform for Co-operative Security adopted at the Istanbul Summit, and taking into account the added value they can bring to the work of our Organisation. In particular, the Platform aims at developing and maintaining political and operational coherence among various bodies operating in the OSCE area.

In this context, we would like to reiterate our resolve to promote the implementation of the provisions of the Platform for Co-operative Security with a view to maximising the effectiveness of the OSCE, as well as our conviction about the need to further develop a mutually reinforcing relationship between the OSCE and those organisations and institutions that can contribute to the promotion of comprehensive security within the OSCE area.

We hope and trust that the Co-operation Council of Turkic Speaking States will pursue its objectives in line with the principles enshrined in the Charter of the United Nations and the Helsinki Final Act.

We thank once more H.E. Ambassador Akinci for his address and wish him well in his work.

The Acceding Country Croatia*, the Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Iceland+ and Serbia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova, , Georgia and Andorra, align themselves with this statement.

- * Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.
- + Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.