The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States. PC.DEL/1705/20 2 December 2020

ENGLISH Original: FRENCH

STATEMENT BY THE EUROPEAN UNION AT THE 1291st MEETING OF THE OSCE PERMANENT COUNCIL

26 November 2020

On the situation in Nagorno-Karabakh

The European Union welcomes the ongoing deployment of humanitarian assistance to the civilian populations affected by the conflict and recalls the importance of ensuring access to this aid and also the optimum conditions for the voluntary, safe, dignified and lasting return of the displaced populations in and around Nagorno-Karabakh. The European Union and its Member States are already providing substantial humanitarian aid to meet the immediate needs of the civilian populations affected by the conflict and stand ready to provide further assistance.

The cessation of hostilities is only a first step towards ending the long-standing conflict in Nagorno-Karabakh. The European Union believes that further efforts are needed to achieve a negotiated, comprehensive and lasting settlement of the conflict. The European Union is willing to make an effective contribution to the establishment of a lasting and comprehensive settlement of the conflict, including, to the extent possible, support for stabilization, post-conflict rehabilitation and confidence-building measures.

The European Union continues to support the international format of the OSCE Minsk Group led by its Co-Chairs in the search for a negotiated and lasting solution. It stands ready to further support their initiatives and those of the Personal Representative of the Chairperson-in-Office.

The candidate countries the Republic of North Macedonia¹, Montenegro¹, Serbia¹ and Albania¹, the European Free Trade Association countries and members of the European Economic Area Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, as well as the Republic of Moldova, Andorra and San Marino, align themselves with this statement.

¹ The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.