FSC-PC.DEL/16/09 20 February 2009

ENGLISH only

Prohlášení Statement Déclaration



České předsednictví v Radě EU

Czech Presidency of the Council of the EU

Présidence tchèque du Conseil de l'UE

2009

Vienna 11 February 2009

Joint Session of the Forum for Security Co-operation and Permanent Council No. 37

## Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the EU on Russian plans to build up its military presence in Abkhazia and South Ossetia

The European Union would like to draw the attention of the Joint Session of the Forum for Security Co-operation and the Permanent Council to the EU Presidency Declaration as follows which was issued 6 February 2009.

The European Union is seriously concerned about the plans announced by the Russian Federation to build up its military presence in the Georgian regions of Abkhazia and South Ossetia without the consent of the Government of Georgia. Among other things, this applies to Russian plans to construct a naval installation on the coast of Abkhazia.

The EU would consider the implementation of such plans to be a serious violation of the principle of Georgia's sovereignty and territorial integrity, to which the EU is strongly committed. Any military build-up in Abkhazia and South Ossetia would be in contradiction with the spirit of the August and September 2008 ceasefire agreements and jeopardise stability and security in the region by further increasing tensions.

The EU expects Russia to act in a responsible manner and to continue to implement all its commitments. The EU also calls on Russia to use all

Stálá mise České Republiky při OBSE

Permanent Mission of the Czech Republic to the OSCE Mission Permanente de la République Tchèque auprès de l'OSCE



relevant international fora, in particular the talks in Geneva, to discuss security matters.

The Candidate Countries Turkey, Croatia\* and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia\*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and Azerbaijan align themselves with this declaration.

\* Croatia and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

## Stálá mise České Republiky při OBSE

Permanent Mission of the Czech Republic to the OSCE Mission Permanente de la République Tchèque auprès de l'OSCE 

 Penzingerstrasse 11-13
 [2]

 1140
 Vienna, Austria

 phone: (+43) 1 899 58 140 | Fax: (+43) 1 894 57 98

 E-mail: OSCE.Mission.Vienna@embassy.mzv.cz

 www.eu2009.cz