The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States. PC.DEL/129/21 1 February 2021

ENGLISH only



## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council No. 1300 Vienna, 28 January 2021

## EU Statement on the Judgement of the European Court of Human Rights in the case of Georgia against Russia

The European Union thanks the delegation of Georgia for bringing this issue to the attention of the Permanent Council.

The European Union takes good note of the important judgement of the European Court of Human Rights Grand Chamber issued on 21 January in the inter-State case concerning violations of the European Convention on Human Rights in the context of the armed conflict between Georgia and the Russian Federation in August 2008 and thereafter.

The ruling clearly concludes that after 12 August 2008, the Russian Federation, by exercising effective control over Georgia's regions of South Ossetia and Abkhazia, violated several provisions of the European Convention on Human Rights. Ensuring justice and accountability is an important part of conflict resolution and the EU calls upon the Russian Federation to ensure proper follow-up of the ruling.

The European Union is fully committed to supporting conflict resolution, including through its engagement as co-chair in the Geneva International Discussions, the efforts of the EU Special Representative for the South Caucasus and the crisis in Georgia, and the crucial role played on the ground by the EU Monitoring Mission.

The European Union firmly supports the independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity of Georgia within its internationally recognised borders. We once again call on Russia to fulfil its obligations under the EU-mediated ceasefire agreement of 12 August 2008 and its subsequent implementing measures of 8 September 2008.

The Candidate Countries REPUBLIC of NORTH MACEDONIA\*, MONTENEGRO\* and ALBANIA\*, and the EFTA countries ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

\* Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.