MC.DEL/38/08 4 December 2008

ENGLISH
Original: RUSSIAN

STATEMENT BY THE MINISTERS FOR FOREIGN AFFAIRS OF THE REPUBLIC OF ARMENIA, THE REPUBLIC OF BELARUS, THE REPUBLIC OF KAZAKHSTAN, THE KYRGYZ REPUBLIC, THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION, THE REPUBLIC OF TAJIKISTAN AND THE REPUBLIC OF UZBEKISTAN

The Ministers for Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan and the Republic of Uzbekistan, guided by the provisions of the Declaration of the Moscow session of the Collective Security Council of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) of 5 September 2008, support the initiative of the Russian Federation to draw up a treaty on European security.

The Ministers are of the opinion that more than ever before there is a need now for a reliable system of collective security on the basis of the generally recognized principles and norms of international law and the central role of the United Nations in maintaining peace and international security, the principles of common and indivisible security for all States, and the unacceptability of the isolation of any State or the appearance of zones with different levels of security. The Ministers advocate a system of equal security for the future parties to the treaty — both States and international organizations.

The Ministers support the proposal of the President of the French Republic, Mr. Nicolas Sarkozy, and the President of the Russian Federation, Mr. Dmitry Medvedev, on the convening of a summit, that would enable negotiations to be launched on the implementation of the Russian initiative for a treaty on European Security.

The Ministers call on all the participating States of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe to support the initiative of the Russian Federation for a treaty on European security and to play an active part in its discussion.

4 December 2008

Helsinki. Finland