PC.DEL/521/18 27 April 2018

ENGLISH

Original: FRENCH

STATEMENT BY THE EUROPEAN UNION AT THE 1183rd MEETING OF THE OSCE PERMANENT COUNCIL

26 April 2018

In response to the item on current issues raised by the Republic of Moldova

The European Union welcomes the signing on 24 April of the agreement on the participation of vehicles from Transdniestria in international road traffic by the chief negotiators of Moldova and Transdniestria.

This is an important step in realizing the commitments made in the negotiation process for the settlement of the Transdniestrian conflict in the "5+2" format, which had been relaunched by the German OSCE Chairmanship in 2016. This progress contributes to a positive dynamic.

We call on the parties to continue negotiations in the same constructive spirit and hope that agreements can be reached as soon as possible on the other topics under discussion.

We also welcome the strong commitment to settlement of the conflict shown by the Special Representative of the Chairperson-in-Office, Mr. Franco Frattini, who visited the Republic of Moldova from 26 to 28 March, as well as that of the OSCE Mission to Moldova, led by Ambassador Michael Scanlan.

The European Union is pleased that a meeting in the "5+2" format can be held in Rome at the end of May and fully supports the Chairmanship's efforts to keep the negotiations focused on results.

In conclusion, the European Union supports a peaceful and comprehensive settlement of the Transdniestrian conflict based on respect for the territorial integrity and sovereignty of the Republic of Moldova, within its internationally recognized borders, with a special status for Transdniestria.

The candidate countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia¹, Montenegro¹, Serbia¹ and Albania¹, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, the European Free Trade Association countries and members of the European Economic Area Liechtenstein and Norway, as well as Georgia and San Marino, align themselves with this statement.

¹ The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.