PC.DEL/722/08/Rev.1 4 September 2008

ENGLISH only



Présidence française du Conseil de l'Union européenne

Conseil permanent No. 730 4 septembre 2008

EU Statement on the killing of a Web publisher in Ingushetia, Russian Federation

The European Union is shocked and saddened by the killing of Magomed Yevloyev, founder of the independent news website Ingushetiya.ru, and is gravely concerned by reports of the circumstances surrounding his death. Mr. Yevloyev was well known as a respected provider of news about events and developments in Ingushetia and a leading figure of the political opposition to regional President Zyazikov. We extend our profound sympathy to his family and colleagues.

Any death of a journalist in violent circumstances must always be a matter of concern to OSCE participating States and should be subject to the most thorough criminal investigation, leading to the punishment of the guilty. The undisputed involvement of police and security personnel in the current case is particularly alarming and calls for an immediate, full and transparent criminal investigation. We note that a preliminary investigation has been opened by the Prosecutor General's Office and would ask the Russian delegation to keep us informed of the progress and outcome of that investigation.

The EU has taken note of the statement issued by the Representative on the Freedom of the Media on 2 September, and shares his concerns. The EU has

ue2008.fr

raised in the Permanent Council on a number of occasions the question of the freedom of journalists in the Russian Federation to operate without fear for their physical safety and lives. We would take this opportunity to remind the Russian authorities once again of their responsibilities in this respect and urge them to live up to their OSCE commitments in this area.

La Turquie, la Croatie^{*} et l'ancienne République yougoslave de Macédoine^{*}, pays candidats ; l'Albanie, la Bosnie – Herzégovine et le Monténégro, pays du processus de stabilisation et d'association et candidats potentiels ; l'Islande, le Liechtenstein et la Norvège, pays de l'Association Européenne de libre-échange et membres de l'Espace économique européen ; ainsi que l'Ukraine, la République de Moldavie et la Géorgie se rallient à cette déclaration.

*La Croatie et l'ancienne République yougoslave de Macédoine continuent à participer au processus de stabilisation et d'association.

ue2008.fr