**ENGLISH** only



## **EUROPEAN UNION**

## OSCE Permanent Council Nr 910 Vienna, 3 May 2012

## **EU** statement on Ukraine

The European Union would like to recall the statement by High Representative Catherine Ashton on the explosions in Dnipropetrovsk in which she expressed her solidarity with the people of Ukraine. The statement was distributed under reference number SEC.DEL/134/12.

Mr Chairperson,

We recall the statement made last week by the High Representative on the case of Ms Tymoshenko. The EU remains deeply preoccupied by the situation of Yulia Tymoshenko and some members of her former government. We call on the Ukrainian authorities to ensure the full respect of the right of Ms Tymoshenko, former Prime Minister, of Valery Ivashchenko, former Minister of Defense, of Yuriy Lutsenko, former Minister of Interior and of Heorhyi Filipchuk, former Environment Minister, to adequate medical assistance in an appropriate institution and of their right to have access to their lawyers without restriction. We would ask the Ukrainian Delegation to provide us with updated information on all these cases.

The EU would also like to recall that at the Ukraine-EU Summit in December last year our leaders reconfirmed their commitment to the rule of law with an

independent judiciary, recognising this as a critical element underpinning the future Association Agreement: at the same time they noted the specific challenges in this area which require urgent attention, notably through judicial reform. They reached a common understanding that Ukraine's performance, notably in relation to respect for common values and the rule of law, will be of crucial importance for the speed of its political association and economic integration with the EU, as well as the signing and ratification of the Association Agreement.

## Mr Chairperson,

In addition, the EU reiterates its willingness to work with Ukraine as a future Chair and expects Ukraine to demonstrate to the OSCE community its unequivocal adherence to OSCE values, principles and commitments.

The Acceding Country Croatia\*, the Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia\*, Montenegro\*, Iceland+ and Serbia\*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina, align themselves with this statement.

- \* Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.
- + Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.