

FSC-PC.DEL/2/15 2 July 2015

ENGLISH only

EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Joint FSC – PC Meeting No 59 Vienna, 1 July 2015

EU Statement on the terrorist attacks in France, Tunisia, Kuwait and Egypt

The European Union would like to draw the attention of the Permanent Council on the statement of High Representative Mogherini on the terrorist attacks in France, Tunisia and Kuwait:

"The chain of attacks in France, Tunisia and Kuwait is a stark reminder that no country and no region can ignore the challenge posed by terrorists. They aim at destabilising our societies by spreading fear, suspicion, and prejudice. Both Europe and the Arab world are targeted. Together we cry for our victims – and together we will stand against violence and sectarianism.

The terrorists want to divide us: our response will be more unity. No nation, no power can carry out this fight alone. We need a truly global alliance, an alliance of civilisations. For this is not a fight among different worlds, the North versus the South, the West versus the Rest.

We face the same challenge. We are witnessing an unprecedented attempt to manipulate religion to justify terrorism and to foster divisions inside our societies.

We will not fall into the trap. Europe stays committed to defending the security of its citizens while safeguarding the diversity of our societies. The European Union will keep working with all its partners to fight terrorism and shore up peace and stability in our neighbourhood.

We offer our condolences to the people of France, Tunisia, and Kuwait and to all the families of those killed and wounded today. Our thoughts also go to the people of Syria, Iraq and also Nigeria, who are among the first victims of terrorist attacks almost every day."

Mr Chairman,

We also express our condolences to the family of Egypt's Prosecutor-General Hisham Barakat, who died following a terrorist attack in Cairo on Tuesday morning.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA, MONTENEGRO*, ICELAND+ and ALBANIA*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA, ANDORRA, SAN MARINO and MONACO align themselves with this statement.

* The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.