The OSCE Secretariat bears no responsibility for the content of this document and circulates it without altering its content. The distribution by OSCE Conference Services of this document is without prejudice to OSCE decisions, as set out in documents agreed by OSCE participating States.

PC.DEL/1267/20 2 October 2020

ENGLISH

Original: FRENCH

STATEMENT BY THE EUROPEAN UNION AT THE 1282nd (SPECIAL) MEETING OF THE OSCE PERMANENT COUNCIL

29 September 2020

On the situation along the Line of Contact in the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict zone

The European Union is extremely concerned by the resumption of armed hostilities since 27 September along the line of contact in the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict zone, which have resulted in numerous casualties, notably among the civilian population. The European Union takes this opportunity to express its condolences to the families of those who have lost their lives and wishes those who have been injured a speedy recovery.

Further to the statement by the High Representative/Vice-President Josep Borrell on 27 September, the European Union solemnly calls on the parties to cease hostilities without delay, refrain from any action and rhetoric that could increase tensions on the ground and return to strict and unconditional adherence to the ceasefire. It calls on the parties to take immediate steps to prevent any escalation.

The European Union urges the parties to return to a constructive and substantive dialogue, without delay and without preconditions, under the auspices of the Co-Chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group with a view to reaching a negotiated and lasting settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, in accordance with international law, and to prepare their populations for peace.

The European Union reiterates its full support for the OSCE Minsk Group and its Co-Chairs, and also for the Personal Representative of the Chairperson-in-Office.

The candidate countries the Republic of North Macedonia¹, Montenegro¹, Serbia¹ and Albania¹, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, the European Free Trade Association countries and members of the European Economic Area Iceland and Liechtenstein, as well as the Republic of Moldova, Georgia, Andorra and San Marino, align themselves with this statement.

The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.