



## OSCE Permanent Council N°1098 Vienna, 28 April 2016

## EU statement on the 30<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the accident at the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant

Thirty years have elapsed since the catastrophe that occurred on 26 April 1986. Our thoughts are with those who even now, 30 years later, live with the consequences of the accident, whether through illness, loss of loved ones or resettlement in areas far from their homes.

This accident taught the world many important lessons in developing a greater understanding of nuclear safety, effects of radiation on health and the environment and also in developing and enhancing national radiation monitoring networks and emergency counter measures. Important improvements worldwide in safety design and culture, crisis management and emergency planning have been made since the accident in response, among other things, to the evident shortcomings of the time.

The European Union and the rest of the international community, including the international institutions, made major contributions in support of the efforts of national Governments.

Recalling the devastating effects of the Chernobyl accident and aiming to prevent any adverse impact for people and the environment in the future, the European Union stresses the importance of nuclear energy safety and compliance with the IAEA safety conventions and standards and the provisions of the UN Espoo Convention.

The European Union fervently hopes that the lessons learned from the Chernobyl accident 30 years ago will prevent a repetition of this tragedy. We will not forget the bravery of those individuals who worked, and in many cases even died, to prevent a further escalation of the disaster. Although catastrophic enough, without their heroism it could have been much worse. The best tribute we can pay to their sacrifice is to work together to prevent a recurrence.

The Candidate Countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA\*, MONTENEGRO\*, SERBIA\* and ALBANIA\*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and Potential Candidate BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA countries ICELAND, LIECHTENSTEIN and NORWAY, members of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA, ANDORRA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

\* The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.