

ENGLISH only

EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Forum for Security Co-operation Nr 793 Vienna, 1 July 2015

EU Statement on the Security Situation in and around Ukraine

The European Union and its Member States reiterate our position that the full implementation of the Minsk agreements by all parties, based on the OSCE's principles and commitments and the full respect for Ukraine's independence, sovereignty, unity and territorial integrity within its internationally recognised borders, is the only acceptable and sustainable political solution to the crisis. We support all diplomatic efforts, including within the Trilateral Contact Group and the Normandy format, aimed at achieving such a solution.

We note with deep concern continued fighting, deployment and use of heavy weapons on both sides of the conflict line in violation of the Minsk agreements. The security situation, which remains tense and volatile in several hotspots in the Donetsk and Luhansk regions, continues to have a dramatic humanitarian, social and economic impact on the civilian population.

Though ceasefire violations are being committed by all parties, we note SMM and JCCC observations according to which the majority of these are attributed to the Russia-backed separatists. SMM reporting about ongoing concentration and use of heavy weapons in the exclusion zone, in particular in the separatists-controlled area east of Mariupol, adds to our concern. The same goes for large scale military training activities taking place in violation of the Minsk agreements in several locations controlled by the separatists.

Bearing in mind that the SMM continues to be prevented from accessing large parts of the separatists-controlled areas as well as some government-controlled sites, we urge all parties to ensure safe, full and unhindered access for the SMM. In this respect, the repeated jamming, including by the use of sophisticated military grade electronic equipment, of SMM UAVs by the separatists is unacceptable and should be ended without delay.

Against this background, we reiterate that any attempts by the separatists to gain control of additional territory will be a gross violation of the Minsk agreements and seriously undermine all efforts promoting a sustainable political solution. In line with the Minsk agreements the ceasefire must be respected, heavy weapons withdrawn and foreign armed formations, military equipment as well as mercenaries removed from the territory of Ukraine. We underline the Russian authorities' responsibility in this regard. We also expect Russia to use its considerable influence over the separatists to meet their Minsk commitments in full.

Furthermore, we reiterate that effective and comprehensive monitoring of the Russian-Ukrainian state border should be an integral part of a sustainable political solution, which fully upholds OSCE principles, and re-establishes Ukrainian control over its sovereign territory, including the border.

In this context, we deeply regret that so-called 'humanitarian convoys' from Russia continue to enter Ukrainian territory without the consent of the Ukrainian authorities and in clear violation of Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity as well as without fundamental international humanitarian principles being observed.

The European Union reiterates its commitment to fully implement its policy of non-recognition of the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol by the Russian Federation. We stand firm in upholding Ukraine's unity, sovereignty, independence and territorial integrity within its internationally recognised borders and call upon the Russian Federation to do likewise.

The candidate countries the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO, ICELAND** and ALBANIA, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA, and the EFTA country NORWAY, member of the European Economic Area, as well as UKRAINE, the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, GEORGIA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

_

^{*} The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

^{**} Iceland continues to be a member of EFTA and the European Economic Area.