



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council Nr 920 Vienna, 16 July 2012

EU statement on the commemoration of Srebrenica

The European Union would like to draw the attention of the Permanent

Council to the Joint statement by EU High Representative Catherine

Ashton and Commissioner for Enlargement and Neighbourhood Policy

Štefan Füle on the commemoration of Srebrenica issued on 11 July in

Brussels, in which it was stated:

"The Srebrenica commemoration is a day on which great pain is felt by

many both inside and outside Bosnia and Herzegovina. Our thoughts are

with all those who lost loved ones in the July 1995 genocide.

Srebrenica remains a silent memorial to unspeakable crimes against

humanity.

Today's commemoration underlines the responsibility of those in

positions of authority both inside Bosnia and Herzegovina and in the

region to contribute to the process of justice, reconciliation, and

recognition of what happened. We look to them to make further progress

towards a future in which events like those in Srebrenica are

unimaginable and the victims of past crimes are honoured by all.

For the survivors of Srebrenica, their pain and their grief will remain till

the end of their days. Remembrance and the delivery of justice through

the courts will bring consolation at best. But reconciling for the future, a better European future, is a promise that we must pursue for the next generation.'

The Acceding Country Croatia*, the Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Iceland+ and Serbia*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Albania, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova, Georgia, Andorra and San Marino, align themselves with this statement.

- * Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.
- + Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.