

Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe Permanent Council

PC.JOUR/660 17 April 2007

Original: ENGLISH

Chairmanship: Spain

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE PERMANENT COUNCIL (660th Plenary Meeting)

1. <u>Date</u>: Tuesday, 17 April 2007

Opened: 11.35 a.m. Closed: 1.20 p.m.

2. <u>Chairperson</u>: Mr. C. Sánchez de Boado y de la Válgoma

Prior to taking up the agenda, the Chairperson, on behalf of the Permanent Council, expressed condolences to Algeria in connection with the terrorist attack that took place in Algiers on 11 April 2007. The Permanent Council then observed a minute of silence. Algeria thanked the Chairperson.

3. Subjects discussed — Statements — Decisions/documents adopted:

Agenda item 1: ADDRESS BY THE MINISTER FOR FOREIGN AFFAIRS OF ARMENIA, H.E. MR. VARTAN OSKANIAN

Chairperson, Minister for Foreign Affairs of Armenia, Germany-European Union (with the candidate countries Croatia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia; the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate countries Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro and Serbia; as well as the European Free Trade Association country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, in alignment) (PC.DEL/318/07), Moldova (also on behalf of Georgia and Ukraine) (PC.DEL/323/07 OSCE+), Russian Federation (PC.DEL/324/07 OSCE+), Canada, Turkey (PC.DEL/325/07), United States of America, Azerbaijan (PC.DEL/322/07)

Agenda item 2: ANY OTHER BUSINESS

Silence procedure regarding the Permanent Council decision on the agenda, timetable and organizational modalities of the OSCE Political Conference on Public-Private Partnership in Countering Terrorism: Chairperson

The Chairperson announced that the period of silence on the decision on the agenda, timetable and organizational modalities of the OSCE Political Conference on Public-Private Partnership in Countering Terrorism, expiring on Monday, 2 April 2007, at 5 p.m. CET, had not been broken (see PC.DEC/791, the text of which is appended to this journal).

Germany-European Union (interpretative statement, see attachment 1 to the decision), Canada (also on behalf of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) (interpretative statement, see attachment 2 to the decision), Russian Federation (PC.DEL/320/07 OSCE+), Chairperson

4. <u>Next meeting</u>:

Thursday, 19 April 2007, at 10 a.m., in the Neuer Saal