PC.DEL/243/11 17 March 2011

ENGLISH only



EUROPEAN UNION

OSCE Permanent Council Nr 854 Vienna, 17 March 2011

EU statement on the earthquake in Japan

The EU would like to reiterate its sincere condolences to the people and government of Japan, and to the families of the victims of the devastating earthquake and tsunami which struck the country, causing thousands of fatalities and serious material damage. We express our full solidarity, and we stand ready to assist in any way we can.

The candidate countries TURKEY, CROATIA*, the FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA*, MONTENEGRO* and ICELAND**, the countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate countries ALBANIA, BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA and SERBIA, the European Free Trade Association country LIECHTENSTEIN, member of the European Economic Area, as well as the REPUBLIC OF MOLDOVA, ARMENIA, AZERBAIJAN, GEORGIA, ANDORRA and SAN MARINO align themselves with this statement.

*Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Montenegro continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

**Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and the European Economic Area.